A poem that hits the spot

Here's a poem that hits the spot

Picture of John Agard
Via; telegraph.

Here’s a piece of poetry which I came across recently and just could not resist the urge to share it with you my readers, this is a poem that hits the spot hard for me, hope it does as much and more for you.

 

Note: this was published in the Commonwealth Education Trust Books, 2014. I lay no claim to the ownership of this material, it is used only on my understanding of it being in the public domain and my true love for the piece.

 

Here is the poem By: John Agard

If I did tell she hold this gold of sundizzy tonguelicking juicy mouthwater flow ripe with love from the tropics

 

she woulda tell me trust you to be mellowdramatic

 

so I just say taste this mango

 

and I watch she hold the smooth cheeks of the mango

 

blushing yellow and a glow rush to she own cheeks

 

and she ask me what do I do now just bite into it?

 

and I was tempted to tell she why not

 

be a devil and eat of the skin of original sin

 

but she woulda tell me trust you to be mysterious

 

so I just say it’s up to you if you want to peel it

 

and I watch she feel it as something precious

 

then she smile and say looks delicious

 

and I tell she don’t waste sweet words when sweetness in your hand,

 

just bite it man

 

peel it with the teeth that God give you

 

or better yet do like me mother used to do

 

and squeeze till the flesh turn syrup

 

nibble a hole then suck the gold like bubby in child mouth,

 

squeeze and tease out

 

every drop of spice sounds nice me friend tell me

 

and I remind she that this ain’t apple core so don’t forget the seed, suck that too

 

the sweetest part the juice does run down to your heart

 

man if you see the English rose she face was bliss down to the pink of she toes

 

and when she finish she smile and turn to me

 

lend me your hanky my fingers are all sticky, with mango juice

 

and I had to tell she what hanky you talking bout

 

you don’t know when you eat mango you hanky is your tongue

 

man just lick you finger you call that culture

 

lick your finger you call that culture

 

unless you prefer to call it colonisation in reverse 

John Agard is an Afro-Guyanese playwright, poet and children's writer, born on 21 June 1949 in British Guiana (now Guyana). In 2012, he was selected for the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry. Read More Sourced From Wikipedia